Why I Watch the Sunset Every Day

A small gratitude practice with big feels.

Stacey Kaleh - Curious Optimist
1 min readFeb 16, 2022

Dazzling light. Vibrant colors streaming across the horizon. Curious clouds drifting just enough for the movement to be perceptible. A new masterwork revealed each evening.

When I was a girl, I watched the sunset with my dad from our back deck. Today, and every evening I can, I watch the sunset with my daughter on our back deck. There’s something so calming about winding down the day this way. It’s a moment I dedicate to taking in the beauty of the natural world, breathing, and saying “thank you.”

When the sun goes down, we sometimes cheer or ring a bell, a small celebration. Sometimes I walk away quietly. Sometimes I move quickly back into the responsibilities of the day and dinner time. But during that moment of glorious sunset, I feel fully present.

More than any other exercise, this daily practice is most meaningful to me. I remember that life is beautiful, amazing, fleeting, and ever-changing. Every day is different. Every day is a gift. Every day is an opportunity to leave things behind and start things fresh. Every day presents an opportunity to relish in awe and wonder. A sunset is all of these things for me.

--

--

Stacey Kaleh - Curious Optimist

Writer. Expert in museum studies and nonprofit communications. Lover of live music and Texas wine. Interested in Ethical AI. Native Austinite.